Pete Wilson’s Empty Promises

First, he was just my pastor. Someone I admired from a distance and couldn’t wait to hear speak on Sunday mornings. His messages enriched my life and made me a better person; a better Christian. He has this way with an audience. An ability to connect and relate to people in a way that lets you know you can trust him. While he challenges listeners to step up their walk, he also reminds them that God is crazy in love with them even though we’ll never get it right all of the time.

I have now had the privilege and pleasure of working side by side with pastor, author and speaker Pete Wilson, and I’m so grateful to be able to call him friend.

When I accepted the offer to be Pete’s assistant at Cross Point Church in 2010 I admit I was a bit nervous. I tried to prepare myself for who might really be “behind the curtain.”

“Maybe he has a real bad temper,” I thought. “Maybe he’s super demanding. Maybe he’s arrogant or egotistical. Maybe he’s a horrible dad who never spends time with his kids.” “That’s okay,” I told myself. “Nobody’s perfect Evie, just don’t get your hopes up. He’s still doing a lot of good, and after all, he’s only a man.” 🙂

Boy was I in for a surprise. Not only did I discover he was the same guy I saw and heard on Sunday’s, but he completely shattered the images and stereotypes I had been living with of “men,” “leaders,” “bosses,” “authority figures,” and “fathers” in general.

God knew exactly what he was doing when he placed little ole me in a position where I could see first hand this kind of honesty, integrity, character, authenticity, compassion and heart in a guy. It gave me a fresh supply of hope I was in desperate need of. This may sound a little dramatic, but let’s be honest. We’re not exactly in abundant supply of men with these character traits. To be fair, it was actually Pete and every other male staff member at Cross Point. Just months before taking the position I remember thinking, “God, seriously where are the good guys!? I need to believe that there are honest, God-loving, God-fearing, Christ centered men around here and I am just not seeing it!” God said, “Let me introduce you to Pete and the dudes at Cross Point.”

Working with “Peter, Peter,” as I like to call him, I got to see him in action in quite an array of situations and circumstances. Regardless of the pressures, disappointments, successes, opportunities, demands and expectations of the many roles he plays on a daily basis, I can honestly say this:

Pete is a force to be reckoned with, a leader of leaders, an insane lover of people especially the underdog and the overlooked, and a man of grace, humility and giftedness. And he doesn’t take a single bit of it for granted.

Today is the release of Pete’s highly anticipated second book, Empty Promises: The Truth About You, Your Desires, and the Lies You’re Believing. 

I was lucky enough to read this book chapter by chapter as it was being written, supposedly checking for grammatical errors and such. I had a rough time though because it was nearly impossible not to get caught up in the convicting content and eye-opening truths contained in its pages.

Every single one of us has these innate desires to be of significant value in this world; to count for something great; to prove to ourselves and others that we are worthy of the time and space we take up. Pete discusses the truth about these desires as he unpacks the enticing but empty promises of achievement, approval, wealth, power, religion, beauty, and dream chasing, as well as why we’re so easily convinced that just a little more of what we know doesn’t work, might just work. Pete also offers practical solutions for not only eradicating these idols in our lives, but replacing them with healthy practices and the only Promise that truly delivers.

Check out the book’s trailer below, and order the book HERE.

Proud of you Peter, Peter. 🙂

Empty Promises Trailer- Full from Pete Wilson on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

